Eastport, Maine.

I’ve had enquiries lately of what my relationship is with Eastport. I have also been asked if I have ever visited.

The answer to the first question is that I have long had a fascination with Maine, originating with my love of Stephen King. When choosing a location for Bradley Jefferies, I began researching various places in Maine. Eastport stood out a mile to me. I was raised on Walney Island in Cumbria, UK. It is an island too. The more I read and watched about Eastport, I felt that it was perfect for the birthplace of Brad, as he is the opposite of the regular Eastport citizen. I liked the idea of something cruel being born in somewhere beautiful, I feel that it made him even worse as a character.

Secondly, no, I have never been to Eastport. I would love to someday. All of the information of the book has been researched. I have walked the streets on Google Street View, but that is as far as I have got up to now. Some of the parts of the town I have really tried to keep accurate, others I have either invented or altered so as not to set something sinister in someone’s house. For example, the Jefferies’ house is a fictional house that I have built in my mind between the Mustard –Museum and the next house on Washington Street. The existing house, that of the kind-hearted Mr Miller, is the one next to it; this house actually exists.

I have included an opinion about the Mustard Museum: “Mustard Mill and Museum, one of the City’s most popular tourist destinations, which perhaps said more about the lack of alternate attractions than it did about the museum itself” I would like to stress that this is Brad’s opinion, not mine. It was intended to show his arrogance and his apathy towards his roots.

If anyone has any thoughts about the setting, please let me know. I am very eager to hear what people of Eastport have got to say about how the city has been portrayed in the novel. I am very grateful to the people of Eastport that have purchased the novel, or promoted it in any way; namely John Smith, The Quoddy Tides, and the facebook page Eastport, Maine News & Information and its followers.

Merry Christmas.

 

About mike20070

I am an aspiring writer of thriller novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

